Leffingwell House Museum

Welcome to the Leffingwell House Museum (Circa 1675), one of the finest restored examples of New England Colonial architecture which shows the architectural development common to CT.  Starting as a two room home in 1675, it evolved into a pre-Revolutionary Tavern in 1701 and became the elegant townhouse of Norwich Patriot Christopher Leffingwell by 1776. The house is filled with a fascinating assortment of pieces representative of its architectural evolution. Interpreters use displays of artifacts, dating from the founding of Norwich in 1659 through the Civil War, to evoke the lifestyle of early America.
Due to the COVID-19 Crisis, The Museum is currently closed for regular Saturday tours and is available for pre-arranged tours by appointment only. Contact us at  info@leffingwellhousemuseum.org to set up an appointment, please give us one week’s notice. The wearing of masks and 6′ distancing is required. All of our events have been re-imagined and have been moved ‘outdoors’ onto museum grounds.

Stay connected with us on Facebook

Enjoy our Leffingwell House Museum Pictures

  • Colonial Garden