The Historic Buildings owned by the Society of the Founders.
The Leffingwell House Museum was built in 1675 by Stephen Backus and passed into the hands of Lt. Thomas Leffingwell in 1700. Thomas was granted the license to entertain strangers by the town proprietors of Norwich in 1701 and began the Leffingwell Inn. The Society of the Founders acquired in 1957 when it was slated for demolition by the state, then moved and restored it as a museum of history by 1960. It shows the typical progression of colonial CT home expansion. The Leffingwell educates the public using displays of the unique collections and artifacts that are preserved in the archives,
The Joseph Carpenter Silversmith Shop was built by Joseph Carpenter between 1772 and 1774 on the Norwichtown Green. It still looks much the same same as it did when Joseph worked there as a silversmith and clockmaker. Two of his clocks are on display at the Leffingwell and his shop is open to the public as a testimonial to the tradesmen who worked around the Green an in Norwich during Revolutionary times. the Society of the Founders acquired the building in 1956 and plans to open it to the public in spring of 2021.
The David Greenleaf House was built in 1763 by David Greenleaf, goldsmith. It changed hands from David Greenleaf to Capt. William Billings, merchant sea captain and finally to the Lesters. The Lester Family owned it until early 1900. The Society of the Founders purchased it in 1999 with the intention of turning into a visitor center. That ambition is finally becoming a reality, thanks to a collaboration with the Norwich Historic Society. The restoration is ongoing at this time. When completed it will be handicapped accessible adjunct to the Leffingwell Museum complex, with museum displays and presentation and presentation capabilities for groups.